Knowledge is the fragrance of life

Different facets of polling on April 10

On April 10 the constituencies of the following states underwent polling in Jharkhand (4), Kerala (20), Madhya Pradesh (9), Uttar Pradesh (10), Lakshadweep (1)

Polling in western Uttar Pradesh

Polling was conducted on April 10, 2014, for 10 Lok Sabha constituencies in 11 districts of western Uttar Pradesh counting Muzaffarnagar where terrible riots had taken place. Polling took place at Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Kairana, Aligarh, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar and Bulandshahar.

The main factor influencing the electorate in western Uttar Pradesh are the terrible scenes of the Muzaffarnagar riots that has left its scars on thousands of people from the district and upon the minds of the people of India. These riots have had its effect on the political stand of this region dominated by the Jat and Muslim voters. A total of 1.74 crore electorates exist from this area out of which 23.57 lakh are in Ghaziabad alone. Prominent candidates in the fray are Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh, Satyapal Singh of BJP both from Baghpat constituency, Jaya Prada of RLD from Bijnor, Nagma for the Congress from Meerut, Raj Babbar of Congress, Shazia Ilmi of AAP, BJP’s VK Singh all from Ghaziabad.

The first phase of polling in Madhya Pradesh

118 candidates have filed their nominations to fight the election for 9 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh. The nine constituencies are Chhindwara, Satna, Rewa, Balaghat, Sidhi, Shahdol, Mandla, Jabalpur, and Hoshangabad. There are over 11 million voters who will exercise their voting rights to elect their lawmakers to the lower house of Parliament in 2014.

Jharkhand has a sluggish polling

Four Lok Sabha seats of Jharkhand, Palamau, Chatra, Koderma and Lohardaga had a low turn out of voters due to the fear of the Maoists who maintained their trepidation by exploded several landmines in the area. In an incident a voter had attacked a polling official with a knife in Lohardaga.

Polling as business in Kerala

Polling was a regular fare in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala where long queues of voters were seen in urban as well as rural areas in front of the polling stations. A K Antony, CM Oommen Chandy and his family voted along with the 2.42 crore electorates from the state that has a high voter turnout. The main contest as in the past is between the Congress-led UDF and the CPI (M)-led LDF with the BJP a newbie third prong.

Polling in Lakshadweep islands

Polling in the union territory of Lakshadweep for its Lok sabha constituency was completed safely in all its 44 polling stations in the 10 inhabited islands. Six contestants are fighting for the single seat which will be a close call between Congressman Hamdullah Sayeed and Mohammed Faisal of NCP. The CPI-M, Samajwadi Party, BJP and CPI have also placed their candidates.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut