Knowledge is the fragrance of life

CSK’s clinical win against SRH in match 17

CSK for whom winning is more a habit proved it against SRH winning a last over thriller on Sunday, April 27, 2014 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah. CSK it seems are back into the groove with the heat off them about the hounding allegations of the IPL 6 scam that had almost nullified the team from participating in IPL 7. SRH won the toss and chose to bat first. SRH Captain Shikhar Dhawan got out after scoring only 7 in the third over of the innings off the bowling of Ben Hilfenhaus. David Warner failed to get off the mark to become Hilfenhaus’ second victim in the space of three balls.

Aaron Finch and Lokesh Rahul joined hands to commence a partnership with the SRH scoreboard displaying a dismal 15 for two. They stitched together a 52 run stand in almost the same number of deliveries before Rahul departed on 25 as Dwayne Smith claimed his wicket in the 11th over. Finch and Venugopal Rao, 13 carried forward the innings. A devastating spell of Mohit Sharma left SRH tottering in the 15th over at 98 for the loss of 4 valuable wickets. Finch scored 44 became Mohit Sharma’s next scalp in the 18th over.

Now it was up to Darren Sammy who made an unbeaten 23 and Karn Sharma with an unbeaten 17 to take SRH places. However there was not much Sammy could do as very few balls were left from SRH’s quota of overs. These two together piled on 36 runs in the two remaining overs. The best shot of the innings came from Karn Sharma who smashed Hilfenhaus for a gigantic six over square leg to leave all gaping in surprise in the 19th over. He then repeated the same act on the off side for another maximum hit in the very next ball. Sammy hit a maximum in the final over of the innings but left the ground shaking his head as if wishing he had some more balls to play for his team so that to put forward a better target for the reputable CSK to chase. Due to this onslaught SRH reached a modest 145 for five in their allotted 20 overs. The CSK bowlers Hilfenhaus and Mohit Sharma picked two wickets each with Ashwin allowing only 17 runs of his four overs.

CSK who are habitual winners and excel in both chasing and setting targets got off to a fabulous start with Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum in smacking form. They were extremely fiery and took the SRH bowlers to the cleaners never allowing them to settle down. The incredible CSK openers got 85 runs in 10.5 overs to remove even a remote chance of an SRH win. McCullum left on 40 that contained three 4s and two 6s to bring on Suresh Raina to the crease. Raina made 14 runs before perishing while going for a miscued big hit off Ishant Sharma that ended up in Venugopal Rao’s hands. The 46-ball knock of 66 from Smith brought CSK in sight of another win with just 20 more left to get. Smith’s dismissal churned a collapse that saw Faf du Plessis leave on a duck and Ravindra Jadeja out for 6.

Suddenly the chase livened up as it was a run-a-ball in the final over being bowled by Amit Mishra with the match going to the wire. After two initial singles in two consecutive balls CSK captain Dhoni remaining unbeaten on 13 sent the full toss offered to him scurrying to the fence to finish things off in his trademark style. CSK won with five wickets intact and three balls to spare. SRH bowlers Kumar and Ishant Sharma got two wickets each. Undoubtedly Dwayne Smith appropriately got the man of the match award with his 66 off 46 balls.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut