Knowledge is the fragrance of life

CSK clinically win to expose MI’s flaws at Wankhede

MI had a winning streak of 10 matches at the Wankhede Stadium that was broken by CSK’s win yesterday on May 10, 2014 in match 33 of IPL 7. In reply to MI’s 157 for 6 CSK made 160 for 6 to win at Wankhede by four wickets. Man of the match Dwayne Smith made 57 off 49 balls and Dhoni finished off the Saturday prime-time IPL match with a big hit in the final over when 11 were needed before wrapping up the victory with three balls to spare. The last time MI lost an IPL game at the Wankhede Stadium was back in 2012. CSK were cruising to victory when the outstanding Lasith Malinga produced another superb 19th over to drag MI back into the game. R Ashwin was the pick of the CSK bowlers picking up three wickets for 30 runs in his four overs.

While CSK played Samuel Badree, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, MI’s spin department featured only Harbhajan Singh. It was MI’s Ambati Rayudu who shrugged off a lean form to anchor the MI innings with a half-century to his credit. It was questionable as to why Rohit Sharma came in only towards the end of the 12th over, Kieron Pollard in the 18th and Corey Anderson even later. Super Kings looked to be in control for much of the chase, helped along by a superb Dwayne Smith half-century. Brendon McCullum was sent home though the ball was clearly headed down the leg side, the third umpire decided Suresh Raina was stumped though the replays suggested otherwise and lastly in the 17th over by Malinga, Jadeja caught dead in front of the stumps was declared not out.

There was an array of astonishing boundary catches and drops that proved more fatal for MI than good. Mithun Manhas put down a sitter at long-on, Harbhajan Singh misjudged the line and could only get one hand on a midwicket six at a crucial juncture of the chase, Samuel Badree judged the ball perfectly at third man but could only push the ball over for six and Jadeja caught the ball at deep midwicket but failed to let the ball go before crossing the line. CSK won the toss and chose to field first. MI opened Lendl Simmons making his IPL debut, was accompanied with CM Gautam.

Gautam left on 9 in the third over off the bowling of Badree who made his debut for CSK. At the halfway stage the scorecard for MI read 57 for one. R Ashwin claimed the wicket of Simmons on 38 in the 12th over. Rohit Sharma with Rayudu brought up the MI 100 in the 16th over. Ashwin dismissed Rohit Sharma on 19 to leave MI on 122 for three in 17.3 overs and then claimed Pollard for a duck. Corey Anderson made an unbeaten 18, Aditya Tare, 9 so as to enable MI to 157 for six in 20 overs. The MI supporters got only to witness Dhoni’s unbeaten 22 propelling a CSK win instead of MI winning at Wankhede, on their home turf.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut