Knowledge is the fragrance of life

KKR buckle under KXIP bowling

KXIP bowlers have shown that they have the mettle in them to successfully defend 132 as KXIP won against KKR on 26th April 2014 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. By winning match 15 of the Pepsi IPL 7 KXIP have won four of their consecutive encounters being the only unbeaten team as of yet. Earlier KKR won the toss and asked KXIP to bat first.

Cheteshwar Pujara lost his wicket on 8 in the second over as he was run-out. Wriddhiman Saha joined Virender Sehwag was then trapped leg-before by Jacques Kallis. Glenn Maxwell the most awaited star batsmen strode out to accompany Sehwag and both were as expected hitting out at the KKR bowlers but Maxwell perished on 15 leaving all in the stadium shell shocked. It was as if the KXIP batsmen had a day off as David Miller made 14, Captain George Bailey, 11 and Sehwag, 37 left at whim to make it 101 for five.

Then the next set of batsmen followed who were all submissive to the KKR spinners as they scalped Akshar Patel, 7, Mitchell Johnson, 0 and Lakshmipathy Balaji 0. For KKR both the spinners Mishra and Narine, bagged three wickets apiece and were the chief architects of KXIP’s collapse. KXIP were reduced to 132 for nine. Defending a modest 132 runs the KXIP bowlers led by Sandeep Sharma dismissed KKR for 109 to register a 23-run win in match 15 of Pepsi IPL 7. Manish Pandey and Jacques Kallis opened for KKR but Pandey left on 8 as he was trapped leg-before in the third over by Sandeep Sharma.

Gautam Gambhir just scrapped though the skin of his teeth from getting another duck against his name. he however looked completely lost as he swayed his willow to give an easy catch getting out after scoring one run. It was Sandeep Sharma gain who struck this vital blow to KKR. KKR were reduced to 19 for three and desperately needed to anchor their innings for a successful chase. Chris Lynn, 13, Robin Uthappa, 19, Yusuf Pathan, 3, Chawla, 0, Narine, 5 and Umesh, 2 all simply came and saw but left after they were conquered by the KXIP bowlers.

Despite Suryakumar Yadav’s, 34 in 17 balls the seemingly inadequate target set up KXIP was out of KKR’s reach. KKR’s innings came to a close for 109 in 18.2 overs. For KXIP, Sharma took three wickets for 21 in his four overs. He was equally supported by Johnson and Patel, who took two wickets apiece. Balaji and Dhawan chipped in with a wicket each. Man of the match award went to Sandeep Sharma for his game-changing spell of 4-1-21-3.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut