Knowledge is the fragrance of life

The eighth phase of general elections on May 7 – Seemandhra

Seemandhra had a brilliant 76.01% voter turnout for the polls held on May 7. Elections for 25 Lok Sabha seats and 175 assembly seats in Seemandhra took place in this for the first time after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh. The contest between the YSR Congress and the BJP-TDP combine has made the elections very interesting this time. As the Congress had won 21 Lok Sabha seats in this region in the 2009 parliamentary polls they face a huge challenge in Seemandhra this time around.

Nearly 36 million electorates were set to exercise their franchise in this election while 333 candidates, were in the fray. The highest turnout of 74 per cent was recorded in Guntur district while the lowest polling percentage of 67 per cent in Visakhapatam district. YSRCP-TDP leaders and activists were involved in a face-off at Sattenapalli in Guntur distreict. One died in a clash between TDP and YCP clash at Inagantivaripeta in East Godavari district. By 3pm VSP-51.67% Chodavaram-70% Madugula-56% Anakapalle-64.53% Pendurti-70.46% Elamanchili-65% Pykaraopet-63.25% Narsipatnam-65% Araku-55% Paderu-51% S.kota-58% Bhemili-58% VSP (East)-53% VSP (South)-49.02% VSP (North)-49.30% VSP (West)-49.17% GWK-45.23% Dist total-56.40%. Counting of the votes for the Karnataka legislative assembly will be held on May 8.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut