Knowledge is the fragrance of life

High voltage penultimate phase of LS elections today

Modi invoked Lord Ram in Faizabad in UP while campaigning yesterday on May 6th for BJP and also garnered votes for party candidate Irani competing against Rahul Gandhi in Amethi. Modi’s campaign saw him involved in a bitter war of words with Priyanka Gandhi and Mamata Banerjee as campaigning ended for 64 constituencies, including Amethi, 25 seats in Seemandhra and 15 seats in UP. Modi was heard to reiterate his call for change at the centre for better governance in these constituencies that go to polls today. 72 candidates are contesting in six seats in West Bengal where Modi raised the emotive issue of illegal immigrants that drew sharp reaction from CM Mamata Banerjee who referred to him as a paper tiger accusing him of stoking communal fire. Modi retorted back saying that Banerjee should prove herself to be a real tiger by taking action against the culprits in the Saradha scam case that has rocked West Bengal. Pressure is on the Left Front in the state to retain the six seats it had won in 2009 as nine-time MP Basudeb Acharia faces that toughest challenge of his life from Trinamul candidate Moon Moon Sen.

Before the eighth phase of LS polls due today Priyanka extensively campaigned in Amethi for brother Rahul while attacking the BJP prime ministerial candidate Modi and seeking votes for Congress. Rahul’s cousin and BJP leader Varun Gandhi is contesting from Sultanpuri in UP among the nearly 900 candidates in fray from seven states where polling will take place in the eighth phase of LS elections today. In Bihar 118 candidates are contesting from the seven parliamentary constituencies set to go for polls today. Lalu Prasad’s wife Rabri Devi seeking to make her debut in the Lok Sabha from Saran pitted against BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Bihar will also witness the crucial fight in Hajipur where LJP President Ramvilas Paswan is in the fray. Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand will go for their single-phased elections today. While Himachal Pradesh has four seats, Uttarakhand has five. BJP stalwart Shanta Kumar from Kangra in Himachal Pradesh is in the fray. Baramulla and Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir are also going to polls today.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Knowledge House - Knowledge Mart | Partner of Skill Hut